Rituel

2023 creation

Ritual

 

"All we are is a ceremony:
the ceremony takes us, and we leave the substance of things."

Michel de Montaigne

THE SHOW

Stage direction, scenography and musical direction

Loïc Pierre

Percussions
Eitetsu Hayashi and Fu-Un no Kai

Direction assistants
Mathieu Bolcato and Félix Benati

Stage direction assistant
Hélène Gendek

French adaptations

Pierre Gief

60 minutes without an interval
32 singers
5 percussionnists
1 musical director

 

Distribution contact

Magali Cardeilhac

Choeur Mikrokosmos
31, avenue Henri Brisson 18100 Vierzon

+ 33 (0)6 73 42 16 57

+ 33 (0)2 36 55 28 54

​​​

This project in progress wishes to explore even more the firt meeting between the Japanese percussionnists' troup Fu-un No Kai, led by Eitetsu Hayashi, and the Mikrokosmos Choir. This meeting was initiated by René Martin during the 2018 Folle Journée de Nantes.

 

Co-written by Eitetsu Hayashi, Loïc Pierre and Pierre Gief, Rituel intertwines ceremonies and processions, demonstrations and corteges, pilgrimages and carnivals, pardons and commemorations from every orner of the world. It is also an attempt to merge european harmonic universes with japanese theatre, the art of taiko magnified by Eitetsu Hayashi and choral arts as Mikrokosmos cultivates them.

 

The Orient and the Occident crystallize for a unique show enriched with cultural transfers, exchanges and influences claimed to be between adaptation, deformation, alteration, transmission, assimilation, quotation, collage, transposition and hybridation.

 

Finally, Rituel illustrates the sacred choral repertoire for the benefit of another choral gesture, more political: moanings and laughters of the pauper, praising feminism, war wounds, glorified environment and deified star for a world's ceremony and a human celebration.

 

Two versions of Rituel are available: the first one, fully a capella, and the second with taikos.

Eitetsu Hayashi - percussions

There is no doubt that Eitetsu Hayashi is the most famous taiko ("drum" in japanese) player in the world. Since his first performance at the New York Carnegie Hall in 1984, he has been performing on the most prestigious stages. In Japan, musical traditions perpetuate with exactitude and severity, so as it might be difficult for a young artist to make them evolve. Yet it is what Eitetsu Hayashi did, since the early 1980's, with several groups and as a soloist. The taiko percussions, imported from China and Korea during the 6th century, are an important part of the Japanese folklore and culture. Eitetsu Hayashi brought about a revolution to the taiko practice by composing his own works, by collaborating with avant-garde artists and by designing spectacular stagings and scenographies. Despite these daring openings, Eitetsu's style expresses a sensitivity which is inseparable from Japanese aesthetics: "I would like people to see Japan's beauty and, at the same time, make my performances moments of high modernity. Both these things are not opposite."

Photo : S.Oguma

Bruno Régnier (1958)*

Les gueux  (2020)**

 

Yves Rousseau (1930-2017)

Plus jamais ça** (1984)

 

Jaakko Mäntyjärvi, Bo Holten, Thomas Jennefelt,
Pascal Zavaro,
Jonathan Rathbone, Jukka Linkola,
Aaron Jay Kernis, Jan Sandström

Omnia Vincit Amor (2020)*

Pärt Uusberg (1986)

Planète bleue**

Per Ekdahl (1974)
Giboulées**

Eitetsu Hayashi (1952)*
Soleil (2020)

* Mikrokosmos requests
**poems by Pierre Gief

PROGRAMME

Chœur Mikrokosmos
31 avenue Henri Brisson
18100 Vierzon

France
info@choeur-mikrokosmos.fr

+ 33 (0)6 73 42 16 57

+ 33 (0)2 36 55 28 54

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Blanc Icône YouTube

Rituel

Création 2023

« Nous ne sommes que cérémonie :

la cérémonie nous emporte, et laissons la substance des choses. »

Michel de Montaigne

LE SPECTACLE

Mise en scène, scénographie et direction musicale 

Loïc Pierre

Percussions
Eitetsu Hayashi et Fu-Un no Kai

Assistants à la direction
Mathieu Bolcato et Félix Benati

Assistante à la mise en scène 

Hélène Gendek


Adaptations françaises
Pierre Gief

60 minutes sans entracte
32 chanteurs et chanteuses
5 percussionnistes
1 directeur musical

 

Contact diffusion

Magali Cardeilhac

Choeur Mikrokosmos
31, avenue Henri Brisson 18100 Vierzon

+ 33 (0)6 73 42 16 57

+ 33 (0)2 36 55 28 54

Ce projet en cours d’écriture souhaite explorer davantage encore la première rencontre entre la troupe de percussionnistes japonais Fu-un No Kai dirigée par Eitetsu Hayashi et le Chœur Mikrokosmos. Une rencontre initiée par René Martin durant La Folle Journée de Nantes en 2018.

Écrit conjointement par Eitetsu Hayahsi, Loïc Pierre et le poète Pierre Gief, Rituel entremêle processions et cérémonies, manifestations et défilés, pèlerinages et carnavals, pardons et commémorations venus des quatre coins du monde. C’est aussi une tentative de fusion entre les univers harmoniques d’essence européenne et le théâtre japonais, l’art du taiko magnifié par Eitetsu Hayashi et l’art choral tel que le cultive Mikrokosmos.

L’Orient et l’Occident sont ici cristallisés pour un spectacle unique enrichi de transferts culturels, d’échanges et d’influences revendiqués entre adaptation, déformation, altération, transmission, assimilation, citation, collage, transposition et hybridation.

Enfin, Rituel abandonne l’illustre répertoire choral sacré au profit d’un autre geste choral plus politique : rires et plaintes des gueux, éloge du féminisme, maux de guerre, environnement magnifié et astre déifié pour une cérémonie du monde et une célébration de l’être humain.

Deux versions de Rituel seront disponibles : une première version entièrement a capella et une seconde avec taikos.

Eitetsu Hayashi - percussions

Eitetsu Hayashi est sans doute le joueur de taiko (« tambour » en japonais) le plus connu au monde. Depuis sa première représentation au Carnegie Hall de New York, en 1984, il se produit sur les scènes les plus prestigieuses. Au Japon, les traditions musicales se perpétuent avec exactitude et rigueur, de telle sorte qu’il peut être difficile pour un·e jeune artiste de les faire évoluer. C’est pourtant ce qu'Eitetsu Hayashi a réussi, dès le début des années 1980, avec différents groupes et en tant que soliste. Les percussions taiko, importées de Chine et de Corée au VIe siècle, occupent une place importante dans le folklore et la culture japonaise. Eitetsu Hayashi a révolutionné la pratique du taiko en composant ses propres pièces, en collaborant avec des artistes d’avant-garde et en conceptualisant des mises en scène spectaculaires. Malgré ces ouvertures audacieuses, le style d'Eitetsu exprime une sensibilité indissociable de l’esthétique japonaise : « Je voudrais que les gens voient la beauté du Japon et, dans le même temps, faire des performances des moments de haute modernité. Les deux ne s’opposent pas. »

Photo : S.Oguma

Bruno Régnier (1958)*

Les gueux  (2020)**

 

Yves Rousseau (1930-2017)

Plus jamais ça** (1984)

 

Jaakko Mäntyjärvi, Bo Holten, Thomas Jennefelt,
Pascal Zavaro,
Jonathan Rathbone, Jukka Linkola,
Aaron Jay Kernis, Jan Sandström

Omnia Vincit Amor (2020)*

Pärt Uusberg (1986)

Planète bleue**

Per Ekdahl (1974)
Giboulées**

Eitetsu Hayashi (1952)*
Soleil (2020)

* commande Mikrokosmos
**poèmes de Pierre Gief

PROGRAMME

Chœur Mikrokosmos
31 avenue Henri Brisson
18100 Vierzon

France
info@choeur-mikrokosmos.fr

+ 33 (0)6 73 42 16 57

+ 33 (0)2 36 55 28 54

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Blanc Icône YouTube